Account   |   Cart

HARVEY DUNN Illustrator and Painter of the Pioneer West

More Views

HARVEY DUNN Illustrator and Painter of the Pioneer West

Availability: In stock

Regular Price: $50.00

Sale Price $29.95

Closeout Price! Our Highest Recommendation. By Walter Reed. Harvey Dunn was one of twentieth century America’s most powerful illustrators, painters and teachers. This comprehensive volume covers a major portion of his illustrations and paintings for the first time. Content includes illustration art, pioneer and western works, and his powerful World War I pieces inspired by his battlefield sketches. Also included are rarely seen nudes, portraits, and murals. Paintings from museums and private collections showcase the full range of this talented American artist.

For full description, see below.

OR
Full Description

Details

Harvey Dunn was one of twentieth century America’s most powerful illustrators, painters and teachers. This comprehensive volume covers a major portion of his illustrations and paintings for the first time. Content includes illustration art, pioneer and western works, and his powerful World War I pieces inspired by his battlefield sketches. Also included are rarely seen nudes, portraits, and murals. Paintings from museums and private collections showcase the full range of this talented American artist.

Among his prodigious students there was artist Dean Cornwell, who acknowledged Dunn’s influence on his career. “I gratefully look back on the time when I was privileged to sit at Harvey Dunn’s feet,” Cornwell said. “[He] taught art and illustration as one. He taught it as a religion—or awfully close to such.” Though Dunn and Chapman ultimately parted ways and closed their Leonia school, Dunn’s desire to share his artistic knowledge with the next generation never waned. He went on to teach at the Grand Central School of Art, Pratt Institute, and the Art Students League, inspiring many of the 20th century’s most influential visual communicators.

Some of Dunn’s other students include James A. AllenHarry BeckhoffJohn ClymerMac ConnerDan ContentMario CooperWilmot Emerton HeitlandWalt S. LouderbackHenry C. PitzArthur SarnoffMead SchaefferHarold Von SchmidtFrank Street, and Saul Tepper.

This comprehensive volume covers a major portion of his illustrations and paintings for the first time. Content includes illustration art, pioneer and western works, and his powerful World War I pieces inspired by his battlefield sketches. Also included are rarely seen nudes, portraits, and murals. Paintings from museums and private collections showcase the full range of this talented American artist.

For this book, many original paintings were tracked down and re-photographed in order to reintroduce the work of this important artist. Until now, most of Dunn’s paintings and illustrations have been unavailable to the public in their original form.

Locations of pictures in public collections are listed, as are the original publication dates and places. Additionally, a section is devoted to the artist’s working and teaching methods. Also included is a reprinting of Dunn’s “An Evening in the Classroom,” compiled from notes made during critiques, passing on his inspirational teaching philosophy. A comprehensive list of Dunn’s students with sample art is included as well.

The first comprehensive overview of the work of this powerful painter, illustrator and teacher, including the full provenance and history of the works. Dunn's life growing up in the rugged terrain of South Dakota informed his work and his incredible paintings glow with realism and honesty. Fans of Wyeth and Remington will rejoice at this lavish tome.

The definitive book on this powerful painter, illustrator, and teacher! Dunn was a student of Howard Pyle, contemporary with N.C. Wyeth and many other giants of illustration. He went on to a highly successful career illustrating adventure books, just as N.C. Wyeth was doing on the Scribner's Classics. And he was prolific in the top magazines. Throughout his prodigious career, he created painterly illustrations for the most prominent periodicals of his day, including Scribner’sHarper’sCollier’s WeeklyCenturyOuting, and The Saturday Evening Post, from 1905 to the early 1940s.

His illustrated books include The Prairie Wife, John Barleycorn by Jack London, A Tales of Two Cities by Dickens, The Silver Horde by Rex Beach, The Boy Emigrants, The Story of Lancelot and His Companions by Howard Pyle, and many others. This book contains a complete bibliography, down to each individual magazine issue, of Dunn's every printed work.

About the author: Walt Reed was part of the instructional staff of the Famous Artists School. There he worked with some of America’s most prominent illustrators, including Norman Rockwell, Stevan Dohanas, Robert Fawcett and Albert Dorne. His previous books include The Illustrator in America, Harold von Schmidt Draws and Paints the Old West, Great American Illustrators, and The Art of Tom Lovell. Reed was editor for North Light Publications in 1972-1976 and in 1974 he established the well known New York auction company Illustration House, which his son continues to run.

 

Additional Information

Additional Information

Item Code HDH
Publisher Flesk
Publish Date 2010
ISBN 9781933865195
Binding Hard Cover
Dimensions 9x12
# Pages 304pg
Color Full Color
Reviews

Customer Reviews 1 item(s)

From Wikipedia
From Wikipedia: In 1906, after two years with Pyle, Dunn established his own studio in Wilmington and immediately began a successful career in illustration. He was a prodigious painter, able to produce (on one occasion) fifty-five completed paintings in eleven weeks for various clients. A contemporary described his style in these terms, “He literally attacked a canvas and sometimes I thought he would impale the painting with his brush.”

In 1914, Dunn moved east and settled in Leonia, New Jersey, across the Hudson River from New York City and its publishing world. Inspired by Pyle's example, Dunn opened the Leonia School of Illustration in 1915 with artist Charles S. Chapman.

The years before the country's involvement in World War I turned out to be Dunn's most prolific period as an illustrator. His experiences at the front as one of eight artist-correspondents with the American Expeditionary Force in Europe were a turning point for the artist. Dunn's interest in commercial illustration declined on his return to the United States. Instead, the artist envisioned working for several years for the War College committing to canvas his sketches of the battlefields of Europe. Unfortunately, demobilization occurred at a rapid pace, and Dunn's project was rejected. It became the big heartbreak of his life. However, Dunn was able to salvage part of his ambitious plan; in 1927, he began to paint covers with military themes for The American Legion Monthly magazine. The majority of Dunn's war sketches are now housed at the Smithsonian Institution in the National Museum of American History in Washington, D.C.

The South Dakota Art Museum in Brookings, South Dakota, houses approximately 140 of Dunn's best works. His "often seen" painting Dakota Woman, from his series of strong pioneer women, is housed at Dakota Discovery Museum in Mitchell, South Dakota. The Chuckwagon is a 1915 Dunn painting owned by the Denver Art Museum. The Smithsonian Institution notes it is a "quiet scene depicting a small group of cowboys seated on the ground beside a chuckwagon, their backs turned toward the viewer, their horses standing nearby, and a pond in the background."

(Right) Illustration for a serialized novel in the June 1922 Harper's Magazine.

Later in life Dunn remarked: “The most fruitful and worthwhile thing I have ever done has been to teach.” Dunn became an influential and revered teacher; students referred to him as “Mr. Dunn” as a sign of respect and admiration. The majority of Dunn's students were either graduate level painters or professional illustrators. Dunn was not interested in teaching painting techniques. His approach was philosophically oriented. He spoke about spirit, emotions, and discourse at length. He discussed his philosophy of life and art, offered group criticism, and strode from easel to easel discussing each student's work in turn.

Dunn's most inspired teaching was probably achieved at the Grand Central School of Art, which was established by the Grand Central Art Galleries and located on the top floor of Grand Central Terminal in New York City. His comments were captured by a student during a five-hour class session and were published in 1934 in a slim volume titled An Evening in the Classroom.

Dunn was a demanding teacher and at times a harsh critic. He believed in preparing his students for the harsh realities and intense competition of the commercial world. Talent was not enough. As he once said, “If you ever amount to anything at all, it will be because you are true to that deep desire or ideal which made you seek artistic expression in pictures.” Review by Bud / (Posted on 4/30/2018)

You may also be interested in the following item(s)