Account   |   Cart

HASHISH The Lost Legend

More Views

HASHISH The Lost Legend

Availability: In Stock

Regular Price: $29.95

Sale Price $26.95

A Lost Classic from 1898. Recommended. By Fritz Lemmermayer. Art by Gottfried Sieben. Edited by Ronald K. Siegel. This much sought-after lost German novel of hashish visions is newly translated and illustrated with the amazing erotic 19th century images. A book so rare and sought after that only two copies can be found in world libraries. A forgotten Arabian legend has been translated into English. This illustrated novel is presented as a "pictorial opera" of love, eroticism, drugs and tragedy, with wonderful nudes throughout, as well as Arabian heroic fantasy, all blended into a tale of drugs and other worlds and descriptions of true hashish hallucinations.

For full description, see below.

OR
Full Description

Details

This much sought-after lost German novel of hashish visions is newly translated and illustrated with the amazing erotic 19th century images. A book so rare and sought after that only two copies can be found in world libraries. A forgotten Arabian legend has been translated into English. This illustrated novel is presented as a "pictorial opera" of love, eroticism, drugs and tragedy, with wonderful nudes throughout, as well as Arabian heroic fantasy, all blended into a tale of drugs and other worlds and descriptions of true hashish hallucinations.

This hardcover edition reproduces all fifty original erotic illustrations and colorful extras by illustrator Gottfried Sieben. We quite like it and look forward to reading it soon. It's a wild work, and so strange to come out of Victorian times before the turn of the century.

The publisher states "This book will appeal to readers of Fitz Hugh Ludlow's Hasheesh Eater, Charles Baudelaire's Artificial Paradise, High Times magazine, and marijuana users everywhere." With an introduction and notes by Ronald K. Siegel, Ph. D. The Afterword looks at other books by this outstanding illustrator, other books by this erotic publisher, and includes all 12 wonderful, slightly erotic plates from artist Soeben's 1898 Caviar Calendar.

Additional Information

Additional Information

Item Code HASHH
Publisher Process
Publish Date 2013
ISBN 9781934170571
Binding Hard Cover - No Dustjacket
Dimensions 8x10
# Pages 118pg
Color Text/Partial Color
Reviews