$65.00

Import from England. Recommended. In this full-colour coffee-table art book, noted researcher Stephen James Walker presents a complete visual history of the Hank Janson crime fiction series, from its inception in 1946 through to the last of the original novels in 1971, and beyond. Showcased within its pages are pristine reproductions of every single cover — including, in full-page size and in better quality than ever seen before, all of the classic Reginald Heade-painted pieces of the 1940s and 1950s. Telos, 2021. Due: Dec.

Not yet published. Expected 12/31/21

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist

Description

In this full-colour coffee-table art book, noted researcher Stephen James Walker presents a complete visual history of the Hank Janson crime fiction series, from its inception in 1946 through to the last of the original novels in 1971, and beyond. Showcased within its pages are pristine reproductions of every single cover — including, in full-page size and in better quality than ever seen before, all of the classic Reginald Heade-painted pieces of the 1940s and 1950s.

Also illustrated, amongst a wealth of other Hank Janson ephemera, are the Hilary Brand spin-off range, the books’ North American editions and plentiful examples of their many foreign-language translations.

Janson is not as well known in the U.S. as in England. His hard-boiled fiction, filled with beautiful femmes fatales and damsels in distress, were giant sellers in the U.K. for decades. We handled several of his newly printed trade paperbacks a few years ago, specifically for the Reginald Head covers. But if you like two-fisted, fast paced and sexy crime fiction in the tradition of Mickey Spillane’s Mike Hammer and Brett Halliday’s Michael Shayne, you need to know about Hank Janson’s work!

This is being produced by Telos, the British publisher responsible for the two books on Reginald Heade, Cover Me: The Vintage Art of Pan Books, and coming up, The Art of Louis Shabner. We have a direct arrangement with them and are one of the very few sources for these in the U.S. as well as first to have them since our copies come direct from their printer.

Additional information

ISBN

# Pages

Binding

Dimensions

Color

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

You may also like…